The Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans consists of seven commissioners. They are unsalaried and serve five-year staggered terms. The Governor of Louisiana appoints members from a list of three nominations submitted by 19 local civic, labor, education and maritime groups.

The Board reflects the Port’s three-parish jurisdiction, with two members from Jefferson Parish, four from Orleans Parish and one from St. Bernard Parish. Commissioner Jack C. Jensen and Commissioner Joseph F. Toomy represent Jefferson Parish. Chair Tara C. Hernandez, Vice-Chairman Darryl D. Berger, Secretary-Treasurer William H. Langenstein, III and Commissioner Arnold B. Baker represent Orleans Parish. Commissioner Charles H. Ponstein represents St. Bernard Parish.

Future Board Meetings

May Board Meeting Agendas

In response to the Public Health Emergency declared for COVID-19, and pursuant to Section 4 of the Governor’s Proclamation 30 JBE 2020 and Section 2(C) of Proclamation 59 JBE 2020, the Board will convene on Thursday, May 21, 2020 using Zoom teleconferencing. The Port’s Board of Commissioners meeting will convene at 1:30 p.m.

Zoom Board Meeting Info:

Meeting URL:

Dial in numbers: US: +1 877 853 5247 (Toll Free) or 888 788 0099 (Toll Free)

Meeting ID: 940 1642 4540

Regular Meetings of the Board of Commissioners will convene on Thursdays at 1:30 p.m. unless otherwise specified.

  • May 21 (Zoom teleconference meeting - details above)
  • June 25
  • July 23
  • August 20
  • September 24
  • October 22
  • November 19
  • December 17

For information on past board meetings click here.